mercredi 11 juin 2014


The Association of Southeast Asian Institutions of Higher Learning (ASAIHL) was founded in 1956 as a non-governmental organization at a meeting in Bangkok of the heads of eight state universities in Southeast Asia. Field Marshal Pibulsongkram, the Prime Minister, supported its foundation and approved setting up the Secretariat in Thailand. His government began by giving financial and material support, which continued for several years until the Association had other sources of funds. More recently, in addition to physical facilities, the Thai government has been supporting the Association with a grant of US $5,000 annually.
ASAIHL’s purpose is to assist member institutions to strengthen themselves through mutual self help and to achieve international distinction in teaching, research and public service. In so doing, the institutions contribute strength to their respective nations and to the entire region.
Specifically, the Association exists to foster the development of the institutions themselves, the cultivation of a sense of regional identity and interdependence and liaison with other regional and international organizations concerned with research and teaching.
It serves as a clearing-house of information  provides regular opportunities for the discussion of academic development and general university development; assists member institutions in the recruitment and placement of faculty and staff, exchanges of professors and students and in the development of co-operative arrangements on specific projects; provides advisory services of consultants; strengthens the relationship with regional and international bodies and keeps member institutions informed about developments; und recognizes and acknowledges distinctive achievements among Southeast Asian institutions of higher education.

Founding Fathers :

- Sir Nicholas Attygalle, University of Ceylon
- Air Marshal Muni M. Vejyant Rangshrisht, Chulalongkorn University
- Dr. Lindsay Ride, University of Hong Kong
- Prof. Bahder Djohan, University of Indonesia
- Sir Sydney Caine, University of Malaya
- Dr. Vidal A. Tan, University of the Philippines
- Dr. Htin Aung, University of Rangoon
- Prof. Nguyen-Quang-Trinh, National University of Vietnam

Aucun commentaire:

Enregistrer un commentaire